Joint Entrance Examination (Main) is a national-level common entrance exam conducted for the admission of students in various government and private engineering institutes in India for undergraduate courses. It’s very important for the JEE Main aspirants to have a clear understanding of the JEE Main 2023 Eligibility Criteria in order to avoid rejection. Candidates seeking engineering degrees must fulfil all prerequisites.

JEE Main Eligibility Criteria is released by the National Testing Agency (NTA). You can find all the details about the JEE Main eligibility requirements on this page if you intend to apply for the national level entrance exam this year.

Candidates are recommended to carefully study all the guidelines to ensure that their application form is approved.

JEE Main 2024 Eligibility

1. Nationality

Applicants must be Indian citizens. Candidates who are foreign nationals, as well as NRIs, PIOs, and OCIs can apply too.

2. Age Requirements

There is no age limit for the candidates who aspire to appear for JEE Main 2024. Candidates who have cleared the 12th examination in 2023 or 2022, or are appearing in 2024 are eligible.

3. Total Attempts

For JEE Main 2024, students are allowed a maximum of three consecutive attempts. The first attempt is made shortly after the grade 12th board exams, and the subsequent attempts are made in consecutive years. The exam is held twice a year making the candidate eligible for a total of six attempts.

4. Qualifying Exam

A list of qualifying exams for JEE Main is shown below-

  • The 10+2 system's final examination, which was conducted by any recognized Central or State Board such as the CBSE (Central Board of Secondary Education), New Delhi or the Council for the Indian School Certificate Examinations, New Delhi, etc.
  • Two-year Pre-University or Intermediate examination that was conducted by any recognized University or Board.
  • The National Defense Academy's Joint Services Wing's two-year course's final examination.
  • Intermediate Examination with a minimum of five subjects, which was conducted by the National Institute of Open Schooling.
  • The Association of Indian Universities recognizes any public school, board, or university examination taken in India or any other country as being equal to the class 10th and intermediate system.
  • Higher Secondary Certificate Vocational Examination.
  • A minimum 3-year-long diploma from a state board of technical education or the AICTE.
  • Advanced (A) level General Certificate of Education (GCE) examination from London, Cambridge, or Sri Lanka.
  • Cambridge University's High School Certificate Examination or the Geneva-based International Baccalaureate Office's diploma.

All candidates attempting the JEE Main exam are required to have studied at least five subjects in their qualifying exams, with Physics and Math as their core subjects. Students are not eligible for JEE Main if they have pursued less than 5 subjects in their qualifying examination. For JEE Main 2024 eligibility, students must have studied Physics, Mathematics, Chemistry, a Language, and one other subject of their choice.

For B.E./B.Tech, the subjects that are included are Physics, Mathematics, Chemistry / Biology / Biotechnology / Technical Vocational Subject, a language, and any other subject. For B.Arch/B.Planning, the subjects that are included are Mathematics (mandatory), any Language, Physics, Chemistry / Biology / Biotechnology / Technical Vocational Subject, and any other subject.

5. Year Of Passing The Qualifying Exam

Candidates for JEE Main 2024 must have successfully completed their 12th-grade board exam or other equivalent qualifying exams in 2022 or 2023, not before. Students who will appear for their Class 12 exam or equivalent qualifying exam in 2024 are eligible too.

6. Diploma Holders

Candidates can apply for the JEE Main exam if they hold a diploma. The rank and exam score, however, will not be taken into consideration for admission to NITs or CFTIs.

7. Marks Eligibility

For Admissions in B.Tech: The candidates who belong to the General category should secure a minimum of 75% marks while students who belong to the reserved category should score a minimum of 65% marks or they should fall under the top 20 percentile of their respective boards in the 10+2 or equivalent examination, to get admission in IITs, NITs, IIITs and CFTIs.

For Admissions to B.Arch: Candidates should score 50% aggregate marks in Physics, Chemistry, and Mathematics in 10+2 or equivalent.

JEE Main 2024 Eligibility for Repeaters

  • NTA has eliminated the age limit. Prior to that, candidates had to be less than 24 years of age.
  • The aspirant must have passed the 12th class exam or another equivalent qualifying exam in 2022 or 2023.
  • The candidates who have appeared for the class 12th board exam should secure 75% of the marks.
  • In the qualifying exam, candidates must have 5 subjects with Physics and Mathematics as compulsory subjects.

All the engineering aspirants must fulfil the JEE Main 2024 eligibility criteria for the repeaters and class 12th candidates. Students who want to take the JEE Advanced eligibility test must first pass JEE Main . Only the top 2, 50,000 Main exam qualifiers will be permitted to take the Advanced exam.

State Code of Eligibility

The State code of eligibility, which qualifies a candidate to appear for the JEE (Main) 2024 exam, refers to the code of the state from where the applicant has passed his/her Class XII (or equivalent) examination. The candidate's place of birth or residency does not come under the requirements of the state code of eligibility. For example, if the applicant's native place is Noida, Uttar Pradesh and attends his/her grade XII examination in New Delhi, then the State code of eligibility of the applicant will come under Delhi and not Uttar Pradesh (UP).

In another situation where the applicant has graduated his/her grade XII (or equivalent) qualifying examination from one state (for example, Tamil Nadu) but appeared for his/ her improvement exam from another state (for example, Telangana), then the state code of eligibility of the applicant will be the state from where he/she first passed the grade XII (or equivalent) examination (i.e. Tamil Nadu) and not the state where the applicant has written for the improvement.

Candidates who have passed or are about to appear for their class 12th through NIOS should choose their state of eligibility based on where their study centre is located.

Indian citizens who passed the Class XII (or equivalent) exam in Nepal or Bhutan will have their State code of eligibility based on their permanent address as listed in their passport.

After passing all the stages of JEE 2024 exam, qualified students will be able to enrol in B.Tech, B.E, B.Arch, and Integrated MSc programmes at prestigious engineering schools like NITs and IIITs.

If you are aspiring to get admission to the top IITs, you should join the top IIT coaching, ALLEN. We provide our students with the best study material that is well-organised to cover every corner of the syllabus. India’s best IIT faculty at ALLEN provides the much-needed guidance that helps students pave the way toward success.

Stay connected with ALLEN for the latest updates and contact us in case of any queries.

FAQs (Frequently Asked Questions)

As per the JEE Main 2024 eligibility criteria, you can appear as many times as you can in 3 consecutive years from the year of passing Class 12th.

The state of eligibility is the code of the state from where a student has passed class 12th, which is Telangana in this case.

The authorities will consider the better of the two scores.

Yes, the candidate is eligible to appear for the exam, required every other eligibility criteria is fulfilled.

There is no age restriction for the students who want to take the JEE (Main) 2024 examination.
Enquiry Now